• Categories
Collapse

The Silver Fern

Wallabies v France 3

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Rugby Matches
australiafrance
637 Posts 53 Posters 32.6k Views
Wallabies v France 3
    • Oldest to Newest
    • Newest to Oldest
    • Most Votes
Reply
  • Reply as topic
Log in to reply
This topic has been deleted. Only users with topic management privileges can see it.
  • CrucialC Offline
    CrucialC Offline
    Crucial
    wrote on last edited by
    #577

    Maybe the judiciary had better views that confirmed initial point of contact although given the track record of decisions like this the better lawyer usually gets the rub.
    Plenty of us with the same view as the ref called it as contact to the neck so he can't be blamed for the wrong start point.
    Interesting though is the question of benefit of doubt which will always be subjective but I guess that if 4 refs see it the same way then that's the way you go.
    What the ruling does confirm though is that it was merely a few centimetres that differentiated between red and yellow. It is still an illegal hit just doesn't fit the framework for red by that small margin.
    It definitely isn't 'just a good hard hit' as many were making out.
    Although he is freed from a ban I hope that they don't take from this that everything else is ka pai. Onus is on the tackler to be careful and this tackler clearly wasn't. You roll that dice you go into the refs hands without a QC by your side.

    mariner4lifeM BonesB 2 Replies Last reply
    4
  • mariner4lifeM Offline
    mariner4lifeM Offline
    mariner4life
    replied to Crucial on last edited by
    #578

    @crucial that's a lot of words to say "I was wrong and I'm sorry for being so sanctimonious"

    CrucialC 1 Reply Last reply
    2
  • CrucialC Offline
    CrucialC Offline
    Crucial
    replied to mariner4life on last edited by
    #579

    @mariner4life said in Wallabies v France 3:

    @crucial that's a lot of words to say "I was wrong and I'm sorry for being so sanctimonious"

    I guess you're in the hard-man camp then?

    mariner4lifeM 1 Reply Last reply
    0
  • mariner4lifeM Offline
    mariner4lifeM Offline
    mariner4life
    replied to Crucial on last edited by
    #580

    @crucial said in Wallabies v France 3:

    @mariner4life said in Wallabies v France 3:

    @crucial that's a lot of words to say "I was wrong and I'm sorry for being so sanctimonious"

    I guess you're in the hard-man camp then?

    Yeah good one mate. Thumbs up.

    1 Reply Last reply
    2
  • D Offline
    D Offline
    Derpus
    replied to nzzp on last edited by
    #581

    @nzzp Is there additional explanatory information that goes with the rule? It doesn't really say all that. Not that what you say doesn't make sense.

    1 Reply Last reply
    0
  • BonesB Online
    BonesB Online
    Bones
    replied to Crucial on last edited by
    #582

    @crucial I can't see how anyone can take anything from it other than that it's ok to tackle like that. I feel like they've given the officials a big finger here.

    1 Reply Last reply
    0
  • barbarianB Offline
    barbarianB Offline
    barbarian
    wrote on last edited by
    #583

    I'd like to see some clarification from World Rugby about what happened on the field, and in the judiciary.

    I don't fully understand the statement. Under the process that Crucial posted earlier in the thread, there was at least a case to be made that it was a red card.

    Did this just come down to the first point of contact being the shoulder and not the head/neck?

    I don't want BOK to be hauled over the coals, I just want some clarity.

    1 Reply Last reply
    1
  • G Offline
    G Offline
    GibbonRib
    wrote on last edited by
    #584

    What a shemozzle.

    I tried googling but can't find the report from WR, just lots of snippets in various news reports.

    Seems that they decided that it was an act of foul play, but not red-worthy? So what was the "right" decision - penalty? Yellow? Why?

    1 Reply Last reply
    0
  • G Offline
    G Offline
    GibbonRib
    wrote on last edited by
    #585

    “The player Marika Koroibete admitted to technically committing an act of foul play worthy of a red card. Having reviewed all the evidence, the committee deemed that Marika Koroibete’s tackle on French loose-forward Anthony Jelonch initially made shoulder to shoulder contact," the statement read.

    “Subsequently, through the impact, any contact to the chest and neck was incidental by Koroibete.

    "Therefore, World Rugby’s Head Contact Process was not met due to mitigating factors, and the act of the foul play was secondary.

    "On that basis, the committee did not uphold the red card and the player is free to play again immediately."

    Cam anyone make sense of this? He appealed his red card, he admitted he committed a red card offence, they overturned the red card. WTF?

    KiwiMurphK 1 Reply Last reply
    2
  • KiwiMurphK Offline
    KiwiMurphK Offline
    KiwiMurph
    replied to GibbonRib on last edited by
    #586

    @gibbonrib

    Whilst poorly worded I think what they are saying is the bottom half of the below graphic which makes up the new framework in 2021

    alt text

    G 1 Reply Last reply
    2
  • G Offline
    G Offline
    GibbonRib
    replied to KiwiMurph on last edited by
    #587

    @kiwimurph

    So you think they concluded that
    1 - there was head contact
    2 - there was foul play
    3 - the degree of danger was high (because MK admitted a technical red card offence?)
    4 - there was mitigation (first contact was shoulder to shoulder?) so it should have been reduced to yellow?

    BonesB KiwiMurphK 2 Replies Last reply
    1
  • BonesB Online
    BonesB Online
    Bones
    replied to GibbonRib on last edited by
    #588

    @gibbonrib yeah I'm confused. Thought they were saying there was no head contact?

    G 1 Reply Last reply
    0
  • G Offline
    G Offline
    GibbonRib
    replied to Bones on last edited by GibbonRib
    #589

    @bones
    I'm also confused.
    Any head contact was "incidental"? What's that mean? It was negligible / irrelevant from a disciplinary point of view? Or a player safety point of view?

    [Edit: just realised that the quote above says "any chest / neck contact was incidental". Which frankly makes even less sense. ]

    Also curious about how they reached that conclusion. None of the replays on the night were conclusive.

    Maybe a good lawyer trumps clear video evidence.

    1 Reply Last reply
    0
  • KiwiMurphK Offline
    KiwiMurphK Offline
    KiwiMurph
    replied to GibbonRib on last edited by
    #590

    @gibbonrib said in Wallabies v France 3:

    @kiwimurph

    So you think they concluded that
    1 - there was head contact
    2 - there was foul play
    3 - the degree of danger was high (because MK admitted a technical red card offence?)
    4 - there was mitigation (first contact was shoulder to shoulder?) so it should have been reduced to yellow?

    Yeah that's my reading of it. Essentially shoulder to shoulder first which mitigates the red to a yellow.

    1 Reply Last reply
    1
  • antipodeanA Offline
    antipodeanA Offline
    antipodean
    replied to KiwiMurph on last edited by
    #591

    @kiwimurph said in Wallabies v France 3:

    Cully's tweets don't make sense. It doesn't clear up if the judiciary agreed there was head contact or not. If it was "incidental" then that would be the only mitigation available to reduce the card to yellow.

    1 Reply Last reply
    0
  • G Offline
    G Offline
    GibbonRib
    wrote on last edited by
    #592

    I wonder if "chest and neck" in that statement was an error, and it should have said "head and neck"?

    Still wildly confusing. They really need to clarify how they worked through the process, what the correct outcome should have been, an what evidence they used to get there. Right now we're not sure if that kind of tackle is perfectly legal, or a yellow card offence.

    1 Reply Last reply
    0
  • StargazerS Offline
    StargazerS Offline
    Stargazer
    wrote on last edited by
    #593

    There is a delay of a few days between the decision and the media releases being sent to media, and the decision being published on World Rugby's website. It will be there in the next few days.

    @gibbonrib said in Wallabies v France 3:

    @bones
    I'm also confused.
    Any head contact was "incidental"? What's that mean? It was negligible / irrelevant from a disciplinary point of view? Or a player safety point of view?

    [Edit: just realised that the quote above says "any chest / neck contact was incidental". Which frankly makes even less sense. ]

    Also curious about how they reached that conclusion. None of the replays on the night were conclusive.

    Maybe a good lawyer trumps clear video evidence.

    That's because the TMO, citing commissioner, judiciary and the lawyers have access to many more camera angles than are shown on tv. The difference between the TMO and the rest is time to have a close look at all the footage, so that's where some of the differences in outcome already come from. Obviously, it's possible that camera angles are not 100% clear, and then having a good lawyer will definitely make a big difference.

    1 Reply Last reply
    2
  • G Offline
    G Offline
    GibbonRib
    wrote on last edited by
    #594

    And here you go, right on cue it's Fox Sport putting outrage ahead of reality:

    Jul 19, 2021

    Koroibete free! Wallabies star cleared by panel after ‘embarrassing’ red card drama

    Koroibete free! Wallabies star cleared by panel after ‘embarrassing’ red card drama

    Koroibete free! Wallabies star cleared by panel after ‘embarrassing’ red card farce

    "Wallabies winger Marika Koroibete is free to play in Bledisloe I after he was cleared of any wrongdoing"

    Except he wasn't. We need to wait for the full ruling to be sure, but it seems they decided he committed a foul worthy of a yellow card.

    Unfortunately most people reading this won't have the necesary bullshit detection skills, and will come away thinking the ref was drunk.

    1 Reply Last reply
    1
  • S Offline
    S Offline
    Steven Harris
    wrote on last edited by
    #595

    A941C876-0755-49CC-959C-AF82478BE23B.jpeg

    G 1 Reply Last reply
    2
  • G Offline
    G Offline
    GibbonRib
    replied to Steven Harris on last edited by
    #596

    @steven-harris where did you find that?

    Sadly that statement doesn't clarify the decision at all. I'd like to watch that video to see if that helps (fully expecting that it won't though).

    StargazerS BonesB 3 Replies Last reply
    1

Wallabies v France 3
Rugby Matches
australiafrance
  • Login

  • Don't have an account? Register

  • Login or register to search.
  • First post
    Last post
0
  • Categories
  • Login

  • Don't have an account? Register

  • Login or register to search.