@mimic said in Highlanders v Crusaders:
@bones said in Highlanders v Crusaders:
@crucial but as someone else has raised, bit antiquated that once the conversion is taken the try stands, why is that a thing? Surely as long as the kickoff isn't taken then it's not a problem.
Its not a thing.
Im sure I remember a player taking a quick conversion but the ref had none of it.
I think it comes from a mis-understanding of the bolded piece in the TMO Protocols 2.1...
Potential infringement by the team touching the ball down in opposition in-goal
2.1 If, after a team in possession of the ball has touched the ball down in their opponents’ ingoal area (
including after a try is awarded and before the conversion is struck), any of the match officials (including the TMO) have a view that there was a potential infringement, within the list of offences (see 2.3) before the ball was carried into in-goal by the team that touched the ball down, they may suggest that the referee refers the matter to the TMO for review.
2.2 The potential infringement must have occurred between the last restart of play (set piece, penalty/freekick, kickoff or restart) and the touch down but not further back in play than two previous rucks and/or mauls.
Somebody, at some point, didn't realise that the word "including" does not mean "exclusively".
Either that - or somebody thought that a conversion counts as a penalty/freekick/restart.